Fire Department


 FD Patch

Fire Department Links



Established 1950



The Granite Quarry Fire Department is committed to providing fire suppression, medical services,

fire & life safety education, and other emergency and non-emergency needs to the 

residents and visitors of the Town of Granite Quarry.



By creating leaders through training, education, and strong ethical values

the Granite Quarry Fire Department will set the standard by honoring

tradition, professionalism, and customer service.





           The enormous commitment necessary to complete the mission requires excellence of

character. Inspiration through community & department pride which is the belief that every

action reflects on all members of the department and the fire service, both past and present.


           Being dedicated to honesty, ethical behavior, and moral decision making regardless of

personal belief or benefit. Working every day to sustain the highest professional standards to

earn and maintain public trust.


Fire Department Staff:

Jason Hord Fire Chief   Christopher Nee Firefighter
Travis Barnhardt Deputy Chief   Corey Blevins Firefighter
Jake Chambers Assistant Chief   Emily Bame Firefighter
Kevin Strobel Captain   Jacob Collins Firefighter
Cameron Lapham Captain   Jennifer Peeples Firefighter
Brian Peeples Captain FT - A Shift John Cannon Firefighter
VACANT Captain FT - B Shift John Walters Firefighter
Sean Dunham Captain FT - C Shift Madison Jackson Firefighter
James Garris Engineer FT - A Shift Martin Whitson Firefighter
Chris Paton Engineer FT - B Shift Nathan Kimmer Firefighter
Allen Bennett Engineer FT - C Shift Terry Wright Firefighter
Alan Shinn Firefighter   Tyler Bennett Firefighter
Alexander Crowley Firefighter   William Parrish Firefighter
Alexander Loflin Firefighter   Hailey Peeples EMT
Alivia Varner Firefighter   John Piana EMT
Brent Jones Firefighter   Judy Morgan EMT



Granite Quarry, North Carolina

The Granite Quarry Fire Department was formed after many years of consideration by town officials.  A piece of equipment was purchased in 1949 and a fireman crew was organized in early 1950.  P.H. Lefler Jr. was appointed Chief, Harry Peeler was appointed Assistant Chief.  Luke Canup was appointed as secretary / treasurer.  It was decided to try to sign up and maintain a volunteer force of 50 members so that at least 10 men would always be available.  The first fire station was located on S. Main Street attached to the north side of the Lyerly Grocery Store near the intersection of E. Lyerly St.  This station featured two apparatus bays with a small meeting area; throughout the 1950’s and into the 1970’s the monthly department meetings were held in various places around town including the town hall, Legion building and of course the fire station.  In the late 1970’s the department officers and town board members began discussions regarding a new location for the fire station and town hall which is where these currently reside.

The Granite Quarry Fire Department was a totally volunteer force until the early 2000’s when part-time staff was added during peak hours, but still depended upon volunteers during the night and on weekends.  Over the course of the past 15 years the department has grown to have 3 full-time positions that rotate 24hr shifts, approx. 15 part-time personnel as well as an active volunteer force which enables the department to provide fire & emergency response to the citizens of Granite Quarry 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

 The original department consisted of a single motorized fire apparatus but in the mid 1950’s an additional engine was purchased, and yet another in the early 1980’s.  It was the standard practice of the department to aid areas surrounding the town limits, but only one truck with men was approved to leave the city limits, the other truck and men were expected to remain in the town in case of additional emergencies.  Also, during the 1980’s the department purchased a delivery van to be converted into a service company as well as a minivan to allow transportation to and from fire schools and administrative duties. 

Current Fire Apparatus

Engine 571 – Primary 1st Due Engine Company

            2015 Pierce Impel 2,000gpm pump; 500 Gallons of Water

Engine 572 – Mutual Aid & 2nd Due Engine Company

            1994 Pierce Dash Engine – 1,500gpm pump; 750 Gallons of Water; 30 gallons of foam

Rescue 57 – Rescue/Service Company

            1994 Pierce Dash Engine – 1,500gpm pump, 750 gallons of water; 30 gallons of foam

Squad 57 – Medical Response / Incident Command

            2020 Ford F-250– Medical responder equipment & various radios

                                          Historic FD Photo

Granite Quarry Fire Department Important Event(s) Timeline

April 12th, 1951 – New fire apparatus delivered

September 1951 – Mutual aid discussions; purchased second apparatus

October 12th, 1951 – New hose received and tested under pressure

March 17th, 1952 – First aid classes taught

November 1952 – Alarm system consisted of three specifically installed & located telephones – one at R.M. Andrews, one at Raymond Russell’s, and one at the fire station.  The person answering one of the three phones will get the location of the fire and set off the siren at the fire station.

1953 – Department officials approved program to sell fire extinguishers to town residents

October 4 – 10, 1953 – Department personnel started annual fire prevention activities

Sept. 30, 1957 –Mayor Brown reported that the town will pay each fireman $1.00 for each meeting he attended.

October 21, 1957 – Two-way radios for trucks and station

March 1958 – Department purchased 24 Merlite Fire alarms to sell at a price of $4.95 each

November 17, 1958 – New fire coats and hats placed on apparatus

                                          Fire Trucks

Granite Quarry Fire Department Chiefs

1950 - 1955 P.H. Lefler Jr. 1999 - 2000 E. Heilig
1955 - 1957 G. Russell 2000 - 2004 D. Morris
1957 - 1964 E. Eller 2004 - 2005 D. Peters
1969 - 1970 H. Lingle 2005 - 2006 C. Beeker
1970 - 1978 G. Shoe 2006 - 2009 D. Morris
1978 - 1988 J. Lyerly 2009 - 2015 M. Troublefield
1988 - 1995 M. Brinkley 2015 - 2018 D. Brown
1995 - 1997 B. Fraley 2018 - Present J. Hord
1998 - 1998 R. Meisenheimer